Home » Veterinary Immunology Committee
Veterinary Immunology Committee


New AVMA Guidelines for Euthanasia of Animals extlink have been released.


1pdf Report 2012


The Veterinary Immunology Committee (VIC) promotes and coordinates the interests of the international veterinary immunology community. A notable feature of veterinary immunology is its diversity – it encompasses a wide range of domesticated and wildlife animal hosts which are affected by disparate pathogens and immunological conditions.

As a scientific discipline, veterinary immunology traverses topics ranging from fundamental studies on how the immune system functions to more applied areas such as production of vaccines and clinical applications of immunology. The main activities of VIC include:

  • Promote veterinary immunology
  • Assist with the planning and funding of International Veterinary Immunology Symposia (IVIS) – these are held every three years as satellite meetings of the International Congress of Immunology;
  • Coordinate databases containing information of interest to veterinary immunologists;
  • Sponsor and support regional workshops and conferences;
  • Coordinate the development of a toolkit of immunological reagents suitable for use in animals of veterinary interest;
  • Administer the Distinguished Veterinary Immunologist Award.

Sub-committees and working groups with a specialised focus are established from time to time to assist VIC.

The Veterinary Immunology Committee is composed of 5-8 veterinary immunologists, co-opted with the aim of achieving equitable representation for different regions of the world. There is no formal election process for membership. A Chairperson and members are selected as needed at VIC meetings held at each International Veterinary Immunology Symposium. Members usually remain in office for two succeeding three-year terms.


Committee Chairman

Prof. Gary Entrican
Moredun Research Institute
Pentlands Science Park
Bush Loan
Edinburgh EH26 0PZ
Scotland, UK
Tel: ++44 131 445 5111
Fax: ++44 131 445 6235
E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Other Committee Members

Past Chair: Wayne R. Hein, Australia
Treasurer: Joan Lunney, USA
Ordinary Members:
Misao Onuma, (Japan), Thomas Jungi (Switzerland), Falko Steinbach (UK/Germany), Cynthia Baldwin (USA)