Home » VIC - Veterinary Immunology Committee
Veterinary Immunology Committee (VIC) PDF 


What is the VIC?

The Veterinary Immunology Committee (VIC) promotes and coordinates the interests of the international veterinary immunology community. A notable feature of veterinary immunology is its diversity – it encompasses a wide range of domesticated and wildlife animal hosts which are affected by disparate pathogens and immunological conditions.

Sub-committees and working groups with a specialised focus are established from time to time to assist VIC.

The Veterinary Immunology Committee is composed of 5-8 veterinary immunologists, co-opted with the aim of achieving equitable representation for different regions of the world. There is no formal election process for membership. A Chairperson and members are selected as needed at VIC meetings held at each International Veterinary Immunology Symposium. Members usually remain in office for two succeeding three-year terms.


Field of action

As a scientific discipline, veterinary immunology traverses topics ranging from fundamental studies on how the immune system functions to more applied areas such as production of vaccines and clinical applications of immunology. The main activities of VIC include:

  • Promote veterinary immunology
  • Assist with the planning and funding of International Veterinary Immunology Symposia (IVIS) – these are held every three years as satellite meetings of the International Congress of Immunology;
  • Coordinate databases containing information of interest to veterinary immunologists;
  • Sponsor and support regional workshops and conferences;
  • Coordinate the development of a toolkit of immunological reagents suitable for use in animals of veterinary interest;
  • Administer the Distinguished Veterinary Immunologist Award.



Committee Chairman:

Prof. Gary Entrican BSc, PhD, FHEA
Honorary Professor, College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine

The Roslin Institute
The University of Edinburgh
Easter Bush EH25 9RG
Scotland, UK
E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Other Committee Members:

Vice Chair: Claire Rogel Gaillard (France)

Past Chair: Wayne R. Hein (Australia)

Eva Wattrang (Treasurer, IUIS VIC)
Joan Lunney (USA; Chair, IUIS VIC Toolkit)
Keith Ballingall (UK; Chair, IUIS VIC MHC Sub-Committee)
Dirk Werling (Chair, EVIG/EVIS)
Chieko Kai (Japan; Chair, JVIS)
Susan Eicher (USA; President, AAVI)
Gerald Chege (FAIS)
Isabel Kinney Ferreira de Miranda Santos (Brazil; ALAI)
Mirta Arrestegui (ALAI), Hirohide Ueneshi (Japan; FIMSA)
Andrew Bean (IVIS 2016 Organiser)
Xiaomei Wang (IVIS 2019 Organiser)

















List of reports:

1pdf Report Andreia
1pdf Report Staton
1pdf Report Franzoni
Report Pandaya


Guidelines and report:

1pdfAnnual Report 2017

1pdfAnnual Report 2016

1pdf Report 2013

AVMA Guidelines for Euthanasia of Animals

AIRG 2016